Wine Trophies a plenty at MRW Exhibition

The 2013 Macedon Ranges Wine (MRW) Exhibition dinner held on 4th October 2013, at Cope-Williams winery, attended by 112 guests. MC was John Ellis of Hanging Rock Winery. 120 wine entries were judged this year, similar number to last year.

Judges were: Jeremy Dineen (Josef Chromy Wines, Tasmania) Ulrich Grey- Smith (Free Lance Vintage & Consultant Winemaker with Treasury Wine Estates), Lisa Jenkins (Manager, The City Wine Shop), Chief Steward: Robert Ellis (Hanging Rock Winery) Chief Associate Judge: Matt Harrop (Shadowfax Winery)

Event organiser: David Cowburn (Kilchurn Winery)

More information: Full details of the results of the 2013 Macedon Ranges Wine (MRW) Exhibition

  • The Laurie Williams Trophy for Best Wine of the Exhibition was awarded to Chanters Ridge 2004 Sparkling Pinot Noir.  This Macedon was also awarded the Vinvicta Products Trophy for “Best Sparkling Wine.”
  • The Bendigo Bank Trophy for “Best White variety or Blend other than Chardonnay” was won by Gisborne Peak 2009 Riesling.
  • The Macedon Ranges Freight Services Trophy for “Best Chardonnay” was won by Shadowfax 2012 Chardonnay.
  • The Seguin Moreau Trophy for “Best Pinot Noir” was won by Curly Flat 2010 Pinot Noir.
  • For “Best Red Variety or Blend other than Pinot noir or Shiraz”, The Longfellows Insurance Brokers Trophy was not awarded. The best wine In this class was awarded SILVER medal to Zig Zag Cabernet Merlot 2010.
  • The “Best Shiraz” was Passing Clouds 2012 Shiraz and received the Macedon Ranges Shire Council Trophy.
  • The “People’s Choice” was awarded The Kilchurn Wines Trophy won by Hanging Rock Sauvignon Blanc 2013

These wines will be available to winery visitors at the Budburst Wine & Food Festival on 16 and 17 November 2013.

Scroll down to see photo label and credits.

2013 Macedon Ranges Wine Exhibition

  • 1:  Barrie and Glenys Elliott of Chanters Ridge holding the Laurie Williams trophy for best wine of the show.
  • 2:  Steve Jenkinson presents the Vinvicta trophy for best sparkling wine to Barry and Glenys Elliott of Chanters Ridge.
  • 3:  John Ellis presents the People's Award to his son Rob.
  • 4:  Rod Browning presents the Bendigo Bank Trophy for best white variety other than Chardonnay to Bob Nixon of Gisborne Peak.
  • 5:  Shelley Lambert presents the Macedon Ranges Freight Services trophy for best Chardonnay to Matt Harrop of Shadowfax.
  • 6:  John Ellis presents the Seguin Moreau trophy for best Pinot Noir to Jeni Moraghan of Curly Flat.
  • 7:  Chief judge Jeremy Dineen.
  • 8:  George Zaal of Longfellows Insurance Brokers presents the award (not a trophy) for best Red Variety to Eric Bellchambers of Zig Zag Road.
  • 9:  Hew Richards - President MRVA
  • 10:  John Ellis Jeremy Dineen and Jeni Moraghan of Curly Flat - trophy for best Pinot Noir.
  • 11:  David Cowburn presents the trophy for the Peoples Award to Rob Ellis of Hanging Rock for the 2013 Sauvignon Blanc.